Winners of the Sawiris Foundation Cultural Prize


The Sawiris Foundation for Social Development announced the winners of its eleventh session of the cultural prize awards. The names of the winners were announced in its annual ceremony at the Cairo Opera House. Each winner was awarded their prize on stage in the presence of the Minister of Culture.

Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the foundation Mr Mohamed Shaker as well as Dr Abul Ghar, Member of the Board gave a speech affirming the role of the foundation in supporting literature, creativity and freedom of expression. This year 476 literary projects applied for the award. The winners are as follows:

Best Novel:

Novelist Reda El Bahat for his book Saa Ramleya Taamal Bel Kahrobaa along with novelist Wahid Taweela for his book Bab El Leil.

Short Stories:

El Beit El Awalany by novelist Amal Radwan along with Hekayet Youssef Idris by Amr Aly El Adly.


Young Writers Awards:

Ahmed Abdellatif for his book Ketab El Nahat.

Khaled Ahmed for his book Share El Daery.

Other prizes were given to scriptwriters and critics. All of the above work was assessed by a committee consisting of the best senior writers, filmmakers, critics and drama professors in Egypt.

Previous articleFebruary Reading List is More Exciting than a Rise in Temperatures!
Next articleAndiamo in Heliopolis